Meedan

Events

Tackling health misinformation with truth, trust, and tactics: Meedan Digital Health Lab at Global Fact 7
Wednesday 24 June 2020 Online Attend
Menu
Close
  • San Francisco 10:30am
  • New York 1:30pm
  • London 6:30pm
  • Delhi 11pm
meedan webinar nat june-24 01 Nat Gyenes

Meedan, in collaboration with Full Fact, Pesa Check, the University of Lagos and DataLEADS is hosting a session about effective responses to misinfodemics based on the latest behavior science research, how this research is put into practice, and the important role that fact-checking collaborations play.

Moderator

Nat Gyenes – Meedan, Director of Digital Health Lab

Panelists

  • Dora-Olivia Vicol – Full Fact, Researcher
  • Eric Mugendi – Pesa Check, Maneging Editor
  • Ifeaoma Theresa Amobi – University of Lagos, Senior Lecturer
  • Syed Nazakat – DataLEADS, Founder and Editor-in-Chief

This session will review academic evidence from psychology and health communication to examine how we can tackle health misinformation. Tune in to learn more about (1) the psychology of crises, and why uncertainty diminishes the public’s ability to process information; (2) the spread of conspiracies, and why correcting anti-vaccination myths is so difficult; and (3) the social life of everyday health myths, and what we can do to tackle it with tact.

To learn more, visit Global Fact’s website.

Attend

The Checklist–read misinformation news from around the world

The Weekly Roundup

—open-source investigations, industry resources and event information