Meedan

Events

RightsCon 2020: When misinformation hurts our fundamental health rights
Wednesday 29 July 2020 Attend
Menu
Close
  • Mexico City 7:45am
  • New York 8:45am
  • London 1:45pm
  • Delhi 6:15pm
  • Manila 8:45pm
RightsCon 2020: When misinformation hurts our fundamental health rights
Speaker Nat Gyenes

While fake news threatens our democracy, fake health news threatens our lives. From vaccines and infectious viruses to cancer drugs and diets, there are thousands of pieces of health misinformation on the internet. While some may only result in a little confusion, others have serious and troubling effects. Increasingly, medical misinformation is seen as a human rights issue because the spread of misinformation about health and disease prevention, such as false information on risks associated with vaccines, or cancer cure, may deter people from taking timely healthcare decisions that protect their health, putting them at great risk.

Today, medical misinformation aided and abetted by social media is a growing problem that is harming public health and putting millions of people at risk of having their basic rights to health violated and limited. Misinformation misleads, reinforces discrimination, facilitates stigma associated with mental health and undermines human dignity. Join us for a masterclass workshop on how to identify and debunk medical misinformation, false claims, hoaxes and outright lies. The session will share experience from fact-checking initiatives and global health misinformation researchers from Full Fact, DataLEADS, the University of Lagos, and PesaCheck.

We’ll integrate insights from health fact-checking research conducted by Meedan’s Digital Health Lab, a public health research unit working at the intersection of access to health and access to information. We’ll review findings that prioritize audience safety and privacy and the importance of applying public health standards of care to health communications. The masterclass will also share examples of how freedom of information laws can enhance evidence-based health reporting and fact-checking.

Nat Gyenes Director, Digital Health Lab, Meedan

Syed Nazakat Founder & CEO, DataLEADS

Dr. Ifeoma Amobi Lecturer, University of Lagos

Eric Mugendi Managing Editor, PesaCheck

Nour Sharara Global Health Researcher, Digital Health Lab, Meedan

Attend

The Checklist–read misinformation news from around the world

The Weekly Roundup

—open-source investigations, industry resources and event information