Meedan

Events

Power to the people: Equipping citizens with tools to fight COVID-19 misinformation
Wednesday 22 September 2021 Online on Airmeet Attend
Menu
Close
  • London 1:00 PM
  • Berlin 2:00 PM
  • Nairobi 3:00 PM

Code for Africa and UNESCO host this event to teach everyday technology users how to spot misinformation and educate their communities, and equip fact-checkers with the knowledge to stop misinformation from spreading before it starts.

Featuring speakers from the following organizations:

  • Eric Mugendi, Meedan’s Program Manager for East and Sub-Saharan Africa
  • Allan Cheboi, CfA’s Senior Investigations Manager at the iLAB & ANCIR, managing a team of forensic data scientists/ analysts and technologists in eight African countries
  • Doreen Wainainah, the News Editor at PesaCheck, working with a team of over 20 fact-checkers and researchers across Africa in the fight against misinformation
  • Nelson Kwaje, a technologist and human rights campaigner working with 211 Check to combat hate speech and COVID-19 misinformation in South Sudan

Attend

The Checklist–read misinformation news from around the world

The Weekly Roundup

—open-source investigations, industry resources and event information