Meedan

Events

Instagram Live: Race, Protests and the Pandemic
Thursday 11 June 2020 Instagram Live: @heymeedan
Menu
Close
  • San Francisco 1pm
  • New York 4pm
  • London 9pm
  • Cairo 10pm
meedan event iglive june-11 a meedan iglive 02 c

What do we know about why COVID-19 impacts Black Americans more aggressively than others? Can tear gas make COVID-19 worse? Will recent protests lead to an outbreak, or second wave of infections? Can we trust antibody tests to tell who has been infected and who hasn’t?

On the heels of nation-wide protests against police brutality and amid systemic racism in America, health desks are now asking how race, systemic bias, police tactics and protests impact COVID-19.

Dr. Seema Yasmin, an Emmy-award winning journalist and medical doctor joins Instagram Live with Dr. Christin Gilmer, a Global Health Scientist with a background in infectious diseases, international health systems, and population health and technology.

Together, the two experts are set to discuss top highlights from the COVID-19 Expert Database, focusing specifically on public health conversations around race and racism in America.

The Checklist–read misinformation news from around the world

The Weekly Roundup

—open-source investigations, industry resources and event information