Meedan

Events

Credibility Coalition: Fact-checking in the US with Daniel Funke
Thursday 24 September 2020 Online
Menu
Close
  • New York 8am
  • Brasilia 9am
  • London 1pm
  • New Delhi 5:30pm
  • Hong Kong 8pm
  • Tokyo 9pm
Credibility Coalition
Daniel Funke

How US fact-checkers are covering COVID-19, protests, fires — and an election

2020 has been a very busy year for fact-checkers — especially in the United States. Since January, PolitiFact has fact-checked about 600 claims about the coronavirus, most of them false or misleading, while also covering the presidential election and protests against police brutality. From live convention coverage to swatting down viral hoaxes about wildfires, this session will discuss how fact-checkers can juggle multiple major news stories at once and promote the truth on the internet.

Daniel Funke is a staff writer covering online misinformation for PolitiFact. He previously reported for Poynter as a fact-checking reporter and a Google News Lab Fellow, and has worked for the Los Angeles Times, USA Today and the Atlanta Journal-Constitution.

If you would like to join, please first read the Credibility Coalition community guidelines and then email hello[at]meedan.com for the video conferencing link. Please state in your email that you have read and agree to the guidelines.

The Checklist–read misinformation news from around the world

The Weekly Roundup

—open-source investigations, industry resources and event information