Meedan

Events

Check Global COVID-19 Microgrant Closing Ceremony and Networking Event - Asia-Pacific
Friday 20 November 2020 Online By invitation only
Menu
Close
  • New Delhi 3:00pm
  • Sri Jayawardenepura Kotte/Colombo 3:00pm
  • Kathmandu 3:15pm
  • Phnom Penh 4:30pm
  • Jakarta 4:30pm
meedan check-global-micro-grants

Seven grass-root media organizations from Cambodia, the Philippines, Indonesia, Nepal, India and Sri Lanka were awarded Check Global’s COVID-19 microgrants in the Asia-Pacific region.

During the pandemic, vulnerable groups faced the risk of being cut off from vital information, especially crucial health information. The projects we supported in the region aimed at addressing this issue, and focusing on removing barriers to accessing media and technology.

These projects ranged from a website to provide fact-checked content for the differently abled, powerful imagery in social media to highlight violence against women, a digitial literacy campaign and blogs capturing the stories of frontline workers.

On November 20, 2020, we are hosting an event bringing together the COVID-19 microgrant recipients and other Check Global partners from the region to share their experiences and challenges of working amid a devastating pandemic and yet make a lasting impact in communities they work for. All participants will get the opportunity to speak about their work using different formats and this will be followed by an informal meet and greet session. Since this is a diverse group with varying projects, languages and time zones, the presentation formats are flexible. The aim is to have more voices, including team members and people from the community level, and enable collaborations across the region.

If you would like to know more about our APAC event, please contact Sneha Alexander at sneha@meedan.com

The Checklist–read misinformation news from around the world

The Weekly Roundup

—open-source investigations, industry resources and event information